Skip to content

Today is a new day…

December 30, 2010

I’ve awaken from my food coma and thought I should jump online to say hello and happy holidays!  

I subjected myself to almost 2 weeks of overeating during Christmas celebrations with colleagues, friends, family and strangers.   Every Christmas I go through the same thing, regretfully.   My willpower completely seizes and I succumb to the holiday tradition of overindulging. 

We all know the trick is to stop eating when you’re feeling ‘satisfied’ (on a scale of 1 to 10, that’s a 7).    For the latter part of December I ignore this altogether and instead I go for the gold, continuing to put fork to mouth until I hit 11 out of 10 and am relatively immobile.  

In my world, the “12 days of Christmas” is better known as the “12 days of gluttony”.  Here’s what it looked like this year:

  • 12 days of overeating
  • 11 CrossFit classes (not enough to off-set the following)
  • 10 glasses of wine (at least)
  • 9 shortbread cookies
  • 8 servings of turkey
  • 7 pounds packed on
  • 6 Christmas parties
  • 5 slices of cheesecake
  • 4 glasses of eggnog
  • 3 drunken rum balls
  • 2 nanaimo bars (homemade by Keith’s mom…yum!)
  • And 1 kilo sized Dairy Milk bar (we pawned most of it off, but I had my share of squares)

The last party was hosted at our place which meant having enough leftovers to feed my large Italian family.    This wouldn’t be the worst thing if those leftovers consisted of veggies, fruits and other ‘good for you’ stuff.   Instead, my kitchen resembled Willy Wonkas – it was stocked with nanaimo bars, rum balls, cookies, Hersey Kisses, Lindor, and that massive bar of chocolate.   Trouble!

But today’s a new day and we have just over a week to get back on track before our vacation (did I mention we’ll be in cruising in the Caribbean on January 9th!).   So Keith and I have a rule for the next week:  every time we have a bite of something naughty, we have to do pull-ups or some other dreadful workout as punishment.  I did my first set of pull-ups last night :)  Apparently we need a better deterent.

Ok, let’s end this off on a healthy note!  Amongst all the chocolate and alcohol there were a few healthy dishes enjoyed this Christmas.   

Avocado Tomato Salsa

Think guacamole  but chunkier and with more tomato – hence “salsa”.  Keith’s sister finally agreed to share the love and this recipe with a few of us after making the dish for our Christmas potluck.  So good, I could eat it with a spoon (but I didn’t…until the guests left).   Being Christmas and all, I’m paying it forward and sharing this with you.  

  • 1 avocado, diced (you can toss another one in there if you like your avocado)
  • 3 plum tomatoes, seeded and diced 
  • 1/3 cup onions, chopped (she uses green onions)
  • 1/4 cilantro (or parsley)
  • 2 Tbsp of lime juice
  • 1 garlic crushed
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp pepper

Quinoa Black Bean Salad with Smokey Lime Dressing

Quinoa Black Bean Salad with Lime Dressing

 

I searched high and low for a vegetarian recipe, since I didn’t think the turkey and goose would fare well for the visiting vegetarians.   I’ll admit that the salad didn’t go as quickly as I expected at my potluck.  I think there are a couple reasons for that…some had no idea what it was, and the flavour may have been too subdued for those who dared to try it.   I added more dressing and my ratings went up a few notches.  

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 4 green onions, thinly sliced
  • 1 (15-ounce) can black beans, drained
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
  • 2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon low-sodium teriyaki sauce or soy sauce (or tamari)
  • 2 teaspoons agave (they call for sugar)
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 canned chipotle pepper in adobo sauce (I didn’t have this so omitted it)
  • 1 small garlic clove, finely chopped

Directions:

  1. Place the quinoa and 2 cups water in a medium saucepan over high heat and bring to a boil.
  2. Lower heat, cover and simmer 15 minutes, or until liquid is absorbed. Stir in the green onions, beans, and cilantro.
  3. Puree the remaining ingredients together in a food processor; pour over quinoa and stir to coat with dressing. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Speaking of quinoa salad, it’s time to grab some for lunch.  The challenge:  making it to the fridge without distraction (getting past the life-size Dairy Milk bar sitting on the buffet).  Ok, I’m going to make a run for it….

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tal Riff permalink
    January 11, 2011 10:00 am

    Loved this recipe! Can’t wait to try some other ones you’ve posted.

  2. Leigh permalink
    January 2, 2011 11:46 pm

    I very much appreciated and enjoyed the Quinoa Black Bean Salad with Lime Dressing and I’m glad you shared the recipe ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

