Skip to content

TGIM – Thank god it’s Monday

February 1, 2010

I’m not off to a good start, am I?  It’s been one month since my first post.   

There’s a valid reason for the hiatus.   Here’s the Coles Notes version — January was a blur.  Earlier in the month I spent a week in Costa Rica with some friends, which was wonderful…until we were robbed of personal items including Passports, IDs, birth certificates, etc.  So, the past 30 days were dedicated to getting our identities back.  Mission accomplished. 

Our Costa Rica saga is an interesting one to tell, but this blog is about FOOD.  And unless you have a thing for rice & beans, there’s not much to say about Costa Rican cuisine.  So let’s move on…  

Today is one of my favourite days of the week (that’s right, it’s Monday).  Why?  Every other Monday I find a blue box on my door step.  That blue box is filled with goodness.  Think food, not Tiffanys.  😉  

Here’s your clue… 

My delivery this week

The Back Story: 

A few years ago I was introduced to the “Dirty Dozen”  — top 12 fruits and veggies that are deemed to carry the highest levels of pesticide residue.   This freaked me out a little.  Especially when I learned that apples, which I eat daily, are sprayed a minimum of 17 times each season.   D-I-R-T-Y indeed.  Ever since, I’ve been more diligent about purchasing organic (and local) produce.   One weekend I ventured to the Vegetarian Festival (note: I’m FAR from vegetarian, I just gravitate towards food).  While I was at the Fair I spent some time in one of the organic delivery booths.  I decided to temporarily trial their delivery service and take advantage of the discount ($10 off for 2 deliveries).      

Here we are, 6 months later.  A longer “trial period” than I had anticipated.  I’m hooked and I’ll tell you why: 

  • Convenience – I no longer need to go on a mad search for organic produce (which is challenging in the winter)
  • Surprises – It’s like Christmas every other Monday!   There’s something gratifying about seeing that blue box at my door and only then, knowing what I’m eating that week. 
  • No Surprises – Delivery arrives the same day and timeframe every week. 
  • Variety – Being introduced to foods I never would have purchased otherwise.  Ever tried romanesco broccoli?  Me neither, until now.  They include recipes for a few of the items so you’re not stuck wondering what to do with them. 

As you can tell by the photo above, this week’s delivery contained the following: 

  • 3 apples
  • 4 oranges
  • 5 kiwis
  • 1 bag of turnips (2lb)
  • 1 tomato
  • 10 shiitake mushrooms (110g)
  • red chard
  • hydro lettuce

 If you’re interested, check out Mama Earth Organics (www.mamaearth.ca).  A few tips: 

  • Size: You choose (Small box has approx 8 types of fruits & veg – perfect for 1/2 people)
  • Cost: $27 per small box delivery. I started with the “trial” special for $17 (ask if they have it) 
  • Frequency: You choose (weekly, bi-weekly, etc) – I opted for bi-weekly for some variety
  • Customization:  For an extra $2 you can specify which items you want in your delivery
  • NOTE: You can skip oranges, mangos, bananas (anything with a peel does not need to be organic)

Be prepared if you decide to give this a go. You might hooked.  I guess there could be worse things to be addicted to.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Blair permalink
    February 16, 2010 1:14 pm

    Love the blog Danielle. Do you remember what fruits/vegetables constitute the ‘dirty dozen’? I’m getting reaquainted with them and want to know what to avoid.

    • February 22, 2010 2:30 pm

      Glad you’re finding it valuable, Blair!

      Glad you asked. I started writing the basics of organics including the “dirty dozen” last week, but forgot to complete and post. It’s up there now. Let me know if you have any other questions (trying not to overwhelm everyone with the details in one entry).

  2. Stevedave permalink
    February 10, 2010 9:14 pm

    I’m eating a non-organic apple right now! :-/

    So if you get this service and don’t customize, it’s kind of like a loot bag? You just never know what you’re gonna get?

Trackbacks

  1. Food at your fingertips on Royal Caribbean « Me. Myself. And Food

Leave a Reply

