Skip to content

Dinner at my place?

February 4, 2010

My fridge currently has enough food for a family of 10.  What’s wrong with that, you ask.  I have a household of two.   My boyfriend decided to surprise me with groceries this week, which was really sweet, except for the fact that I had also gone shopping that afternoon.  We know have two of everything…and we received our organic delivery on top of that.  It pains me to see food go to waste so I’ve been cooking…and eating…more than usual this week.

My brother and his fiancée came over for dinner one evening to help us consume the excess, and my girlfriends, Michelle and M.C. next night.   I was expecting more from M.C. who is weeks away from her due date, but no such luck.  My appetite still rivals hers 😉

I woke up this morning to a fridge that was still overflowing with food.  I knew then that I would be spending my evening in the kitchen.   With some time to spare before my meeting I decided to get a head start…I was stir-frying garlic and chopping swiss chard while eating  breakfast at 8am.

Fast forward to 6pm.  I walked in the door, dropped my bags and whipped out the recipes which accompanied Monday’s organic delivery.  I was off to the races…

THE MENU:

 

Tonight's Meal - Salmon, Roasted Parsnips & Red Chard

 

 

Stir-fried Turnips

  • Recipe: I didn’t have breadcrumbs (as recommended in the Mama Earth recipe) so I tried this one instead.
  • Pros: Simple to prep and the vinegar gave them a nice, unexpected zing. Added Bonus: Parsnips are rich in Vitamin C and fiber.
  • Cons: They took a little longer to cook, so I would suggest either (a) doing them in the oven vs. stove top or (b) cutting them into smaller pieces, say ¼ inch

Maple Dijon Salmon

  • One of my absolute faves. The best part – ONLY 2 ingredients. Ok, I lied. It’s 3 if you include the salmon.
  • Recipe: 1 TBSP maple syrup + 1 TBSP of grainy Dijon mustard, spread sauce evenly on each piece and bake at 425o for 10 mins (or broil for 5-7 minutes)

Stir-fried Red Chard

  • Super simple and super healthy.
  • Recipe: Click on the thumbnail below.

Mama Earth Organics - Recipes Feb 2010

There’s still plenty of goodies waiting to be consumed, so stay tuned to for more recipes.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Adrian permalink
    February 26, 2010 11:26 am

    NICE WORK!

    we love that you love food so much! thanks for sharing! Dinner at your places looks fantastic, wish we could have been there when you had double amounts of food!

  2. Kari permalink
    February 12, 2010 8:29 pm

    I love it Dan!! Not only do I love the tips, but I also love how you have articulated your passion!! The organic food delivery is an amazing idea!! Will have to look into it when I finally move to TO!

  3. Shannon permalink
    February 10, 2010 9:35 pm

    Dan – I love the blog! Great job…and it sounds perfect for you! You get if out of your mind and we get the great info!

Trackbacks

  1. They don’t call it “Family Day” for nothin’ « Me. Myself. And Food

Leave a Reply

