Skip to content

Elimination Diet – Day #2 (Shout out to Sprouts)

March 10, 2010

I was stumped for breakfast this morning.  What does one eat aside from the usual yogurt, fruit, granola, toast?  Even these healthier choices fall in the Elimination Diet’s “Avoid” list.   Being in a rush with no groceries didn’t allow me to be creative, so I did what I do best and grazed.

It came down to: one egg with avocado, a rice cake with hemp seed butter, blueberries and two large carrots.  Yes, carrots.  Ever seen anyone eat a carrot muffin for breakfast?  I figured this isn’t much different.   After my smorgasbord of foods, I was satiated.  Plus, I found a new ‘friend’ for breakfast – fried eggs (always overhard), spinach and avocado.   I’m telling ya, it was surprisingly tasty, plus the flavours and textures work so well together.    I tend to crave textures more than flavours on occasion – so things that crunchy (granola), velvety (ice cream), chewy (dried fruits).   Am I the only one?  Anyhow, I snapped a photo of my standard weekend breakfast for all to see.  Although it doesn’t look as good as it does in real life. 

My standard weekend breakfast - eggs, spinach and avocado

 

For lunch it was a simple salad with sprouts from Uncle George’s Place at St. Lawrence Market.  I discovered this hidden gem this summer during one of my weekly excursions to the market.  It’s tucked away in the back corner on the bottom floor so easy to miss.    When I first crossed paths with “George” I was drawn in by the samples of seeds with tails.  I ended up chatting with one of the guys behind the counter for a good 30 minutes and he gave me the health spiel on sprouts.   I’ve been investing $4 for the ancient sprout mix (with the yummy homemade red pepper dressing) ever since.

The background on…

SPROUTS

Sprouts are one of the most alive and potent sources of antioxidants, minerals, proteins and enzymes.   To explain this simply (after all, I’m no expert)…in the seed state, nutrients are readily available in concentrated amounts.  However, once the full grown plants are harvested and shipped, many of these nutrients are lost.

How sprouting works?

Sprouting is the process in which a seed, nut or legume becomes a plant.  By soaking lentils, sesame or sunflower seeds in water for varying lengths of time, the sprouting process begins.  Nutrients in the seeds (proteins, fats and carbohydrates) are then partially broken down, making it easier for our body to digest and absorb them.   They say sprouting can easily be done at home, but I’d rather leave it to the experts.

Uncle George’s Place also sells FABULOUS dips all made from sprouts – beet hummus is my favourite.  It’s getting so popular, they’re selling out before I get there on some weekends.  In hindsight, I should have kept this place to myself 😉

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Danielle permalink
    March 17, 2010 8:07 am

    Hey Danielle – I’m really enjoying your blog. I did something similar for 8 weeks and it was tough for the first few days but once I figured what I could eat, it got easier.

    As for replacing soy sauce, look for a product called Tamari. It’s a wheatless soy sauce that tastes pretty much the same as the regular stuff. I’ve seen it in regular grocery stores where you would find soy sauce.

    Good luck!

    http://www.wisegeek.com/what-is-tamari-soy-sauce.htm

    • March 17, 2010 4:56 pm

      Kudos to you, Danielle for surviving 8 weeks. You’re right, it’s really not that bad once you get the hang of what to eat. However, 8 weeks without wine and cheesecake sounds horrifying. Would love to hear how you felt during the 2 month stint, and after wards (once you reintroduced dairy, wheat, etc). PLEASE tell me it was worth it:)

      Great point about Tamari being a substitute for soy sauce. I should have noted that in the post. I have some Tamari at home, but realizing that most sushi restaurants do not provide it. The only exception was Bikkuri (at 36 King St. East) and that was only because a gluten-free customer left it behind. I guess I’ll be carrying a bottle of Tamari in my purse for the next sushi dinner. Or simply ordering in.

      • Danielle permalink
        March 18, 2010 8:59 am

        I ate this way as part of a bootcamp. The two women who offered it were big believers in clean eating and I have to say that while I was eating this way I felt amazing. I had lots of energy and not eating dairy or wheat eliminated bloating and my cravings for sugar. Plus, the headaches I experienced almost daily were completely eliminated. I was able to eat fruit (I’m not sure how you’re surviving without it!) and butter wasn’t considered dairy.

        By the end of the first week I wasn’t sure if I’d be able to eat another meal of salad and chicken, but the bootcamp also included two cooking classes and weekly recipes. I still have them and if you’re interested I’ll send them to you. I learned a ton about alternative products and expanded my tastebuds.

        The key to survival was planning: preparing meals in in advance and always having ED friendly snacks on had. After 8 weeks I had lost 10 lbs and felt the ‘sacrifices’ were totally worth it! I went back to eating regularly shortly after finishing and wished I hadn’t. And everyday I try to stick to clean eating, but it’s tough on a long-term basis. I think I could live without wheat and sugar, but I love dairy!

  2. Stevedave permalink
    March 11, 2010 11:33 am

    Aji Sai? I love Aji Sai!

    We used to hit the AYCE there almost every Friday. It is still the best sushi I’ve had.

    On another note, I will look into this sprout business.

    • March 17, 2010 4:58 pm

      You’ve been? Is there one in Burlington as well? I think we’d all like to know which roll was your favourite….

  3. Miki permalink
    March 10, 2010 12:14 pm

    blueberries for breakfast? isn’t that a fruit? i thought those were off-limits? kudo’s to you…not sure how you are doing this!

    • March 10, 2010 12:25 pm

      Yep – I noted that berries and apples are OK in moderation. Phew.
      Keith and I have made it to day #3 but the real challenge will be over the next 72 hours. I’m at a conference where all food is provided. That means sandwiches, pasta, and lots and lots of sweets. I’m scared. Hoping my will power will pull me through.

      • Keith permalink
        March 10, 2010 1:47 pm

        You better get through it!! Or else I’m going to McDonald’s for dinner tonight!!! And I don’t even like McDonald’s!! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Elimination Diet – One down, two to go. | Me. Myself. and Food.
  2. My Sprouting Experiment « Me. Myself. And Food
  3. Elimination Diet – One down, three to go. « Me. Myself. And Food

Leave a Reply

