Skip to content

Elimination Diet – Day #3 (Corn is the enemy)

March 11, 2010

I may have resembled a bag lady strolling through Pearson Airport this morning.   I had my luggage, purse and laptop case in one hand while lugging around shopping bags filled with snacks in the other.   I learned my lesson during my travels last week.

What you don’t know is that,  I recently attempted the Elimination Diet and failed.  I survived a couple days, until I stepped foot in the same airport for my week long trip to Seattle.  My hunger escalated once I made it through customs but as you would expect, meal choices in Terminal 1 are limited.   I could have gone with the ‘airport’ salad (with nutrient neglected iceberg lettuce, one cherry tomato and slice of cucumber) but I knew my hunger would resurface in no time.  So I gave up and gave in – indulging in all of the diet’s “no-no’s” during the week (I didn’t shy away from cookies, bread or wine).  But I’m back for a second try…

To minimize any chance of failure this time around, last night I prepped a few dishes to take with me to the airport.   One of which was the Vegetarian Garden Chili from Supperworks.  So simple and really tasty!  I just threw the contents of the Ziploc into a pot and it was done in 20 minutes.   Near the end I added another can of kidney beans to pump up the protein and fiber. 

FYI – Kidney Beans are nutrition powerhouses.  These legumes deliver 45% of the DRI (Daily Recommended Intake) of fiber, 20% of magnesium, 20% of iron (a great alternative to meat) and the list goes on.  Not bad for something so inexpensive. 

The chili also came with corn nibblets but I ditched them without hesitation.  I know, corn is gluten-free, but that’s not the issue.  So why would I do such a thing?  Repeat after me…”Corn – is – the – enemy”

Corn is the enemy

You may already heard these four words come out of my mouth, perhaps a little too often and at the most inappropriate times (i.e. while enjoying your peaches & cream corn on the cob).   I’m about to share one big reason why my cynicism towards the yellow stuff is completely justified.   

Warning:  This is the point of no return.  If you read on, you may never look at corn the same way again.

Here’s the deal:  although corn doesn’t fall within the “Dirty Dozen”, it’s high on the “must buy organic or avoid” list.  Main reason is this. Almost all corn is genetically modified, and that gives rise to many health concerns.   I like to pick on corn, but it isn’t alone.  You can add soy and canola to the “Dirty List”.   Here are the foods to watch out for (sadly, ones that we consume daily and obliviously). 

Want another reason why I have a hate on for the yellow grain?  Ok.  

All grains are deficient in Omega 3s (an essential fatty acid) and high in Omega 6 (another EFA, but one that we get more than enough of in our diet).  The ideal ratio of Omega 6 : Omega 3 should be approx 1:1 or 2 : 1.    Corn is the worst grain across the board with a ratio of 40 : 1!     Research shows that higher than the recommended  intake of Omega 6 is linked to many chronic diseases.   Guess what….the average North American is sitting at 20 : 1!   This is likely a result of the increased consumption of corn – it’s in almost EVERYTHING we eat.      

Oh, gotta go.  My room service just arrived.  Yep, I’m eating dinner at 1am Toronto time.  Kinda disgusting, eh.  Good thing I ordered something light(er) – the wild Pacific salmon (I confirmed this) with asparagus, all for the low, low price of $35!   That’s robbery! 

There’s still more to come on this topic…dirty corn, that is.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. kidney cleanse permalink
    October 15, 2011 10:30 pm

    Undeniably consider that that you stated. Your favorite reason seemed to be on the internet the easiest factor to bear in mind of. I say to you, I certainly get irked whilst other folks consider worries that they plainly don’t recognize about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also outlined out the whole thing with no need side-effects , other folks could take a signal. Will likely be again to get more. Thanks

  2. Miki permalink
    March 11, 2010 6:15 pm

    corn is the enemy? I thought it was the devil!
    thanks for the info on GMO’s…knew they were bad but didn’t really know why!

    • March 12, 2010 2:02 am

      You’re right – it is the devil, which I had at first but was worried about how that would go over. So I tamed it down a bit.

Leave a Reply

