Skip to content

Elimination Diet – One down, two to go.

March 18, 2010

As of Monday, week one of the Elimination Diet was done, over, finito.   How do I feel?  Great.  How did I feel before I started?  Great.  So can’t really say there’s been any noticeable differences thus far.   That wasn’t the expectation set by my naturopath either.  I was purely doing this to (a) give my body and my liver a break from some of the ‘harsher’ foods I had been consuming (b) help me identify some of the food sensitivities I may have, and ultimately (c) fix some of the other unnamed issues I’ve got going on.   The “diet” was really a means to an end.

Overall, I was a good girl and played by the rules this week.  Being the honest person that I am however, I have to come clean with something.  I may have had a few slip-ups and let the “bad” guys in.

Here’s where I messed up.

GLUTEN

Something made me inquire about gluten-free dishes when I was placing another order at Fresh this week.  One of their staff (coincidentally, one who suffers from Celiac disease) confirmed that all of their tofu and tempeh is marinated in soy.  Including the Green Goddess rice bowl I had this weekend.  I know it’s a minimal amount but it’s still gluten.

It was soy that again found its way into the Green Dragon (aka BBQ eel maki) at Aji Sai.  I was out for sushi dinner with a colleague last night at Toshi Sushi (where, by the way, they have the friendliest, most soft-spoken staff) and asked the waitress if they had Tamari (gluten-free soy sauce).   No luck.  I was eating plain sushi again.   When she clued in that I was avoiding gluten, she warned me about the Green Dragon roll noting that the eel was marinated in soy.  Nooooo!   I naively enjoyed the same roll last week.  I also learned that my tempura shrimp roll contains some wheat.  Missing that one is my own stupidity.

La Messagere - Gluten-free beer

DAIRY

Unless it was hidden somewhere in my sushi, I think I did OK on this front.   No cheese, no yogurt, no ice cream.  Oh wait.  It just dawned on me…I cooked with butter.   I didn’t make the connection that butter = dairy until after I cooked and ate my Curried Glazed Carrots.   It only happened once. Or thrice.

SUGAR

I successfully avoided sweets but not the so-called “bad” fruit (i.e. the fruit salad at our dinner party).  I’ve also had some mango and orange at some point.    I can’t believe I’m slapping my own hand for eating fruit, but I get it.  It’s sugar.  The bad bacteria loves sugar of any kind.  So in order for the probiotics (good bacteria) to flourish, any sugar should be shunned.

ALCOHOL

I deserve a gold star when it comes to alcohol.  Absolutely NO wine, beer or liquor.   Not even a little sip.  On Saturday night, I was tempted to taste Keith’s gluten-free beer when no one was looking, but I resisted.  Give La Messagère a try.

Based on the above, let’s call the past 7 days “Practice Week”.  I am going to take the next two weeks more seriously.   I put this together so none of you make the same mistakes.

Avoid

Found in

Substitute with

Gluten

Wheat, rye, barley, oat based products, soy sauce

 

Rice, Amaranth, Buckwheat, Millet, Quinoa, Teff, Tamari (wheat-free soy sauce)

Dairy

Dairy milk, cheese, butter, ice cream, yogurt

Rice, soy, almond milk.

Soy cheese.

Soy, coconut, rice milk ice creams.

*remember to eat organic soy where possible

Sugar Fruit, dessert, juice, anything with sugar Stevia (an herbal sweetener) can be used in limited amounts.  Apples & berries periodically.
Alcohol

Beer, wine, liquor, etc

Water (not what you wanted to hear, I know)

Caffeine

Caffeine containing teas, pop, coffee

Herbal teas, water
6 Comments leave one →
  1. Miki permalink
    March 19, 2010 7:36 pm

    so question…i’m confused. is all soy bad? b/c you note to have soy cheese instead of regular cheese, but then you were kicking yourself for having food marinated in soy! help!

    • March 19, 2010 11:53 pm

      Good question. On the Elimination Diet I have to avoid wheat/gluten, which includes soy sauce because it contains wheat (and the eel and tempeh were marinated in soy sauce). Soy cheese is recommended for anyone avoiding dairy (or on the Elimination Diet) as an alternative to regular cheese.

      Outside of the diet, I’m trying to minimize my consumption of soy altogether unless it’s (a) organic or (b) fermented. Examples of fermented soy include: tempeh, natto, miso and certain soy sauces. My rationale can’t be explained in this tiny comment box so I’ll get into this when I do my soy post. If you’re anxious to know why soy may also be the devil read on and let me know what you think!

  2. Blair permalink
    March 18, 2010 10:34 am

    While there is no chance in hell I could survive this diet, in a strange way it sounds fun…finding new combinations of things to cook and eat.

    Can I get Keith’s review of La Messagere? Full flavoured?

    • March 22, 2010 6:55 pm

      Hey Blair,

      La Messagere was actually pretty good. I’m not the biggest beer drinker in the world…so I’m not sure am qualified to review a beer, but I did enjoy it. I was expecting something drastically different from normal barley brewed beer, but was joyfully surprised to find it very comparable to normal beer. It was definitely different than your typical North American Beers, such as, Blue, Canadian, or Bud Light. Maybe it was even better.

      Overall, it was enjoyable to drink with a unique taste, but I have to say, I will stick to my Corona with lime on those hot summer cottage days!

      Here are some professional reviews of La Messagere: http://www.justhereforthebeer.com/beer%20of%20the%20week112.htm

      It’s worth a try!

      Keith

      • Blair permalink
        March 23, 2010 4:26 pm

        Thanks Keith.

Trackbacks

  1. Elimination Diet – Day #1 « Me. Myself. And Food

Leave a Reply

