Skip to content

Orange you glad I found this recipe?

April 2, 2010

Dear orange,

I apologize to you and your little citrus friends.  You’re so full of goodness but are often neglected in this household.  Having choked on one of your segments at the age of 5 might have something to do with it.  I commend you for trying to get back into my daily diet, sneaking into the organic delivery every week.   Instead of in my tummy, you end up in the fridge drawer with your friends from the previous week.  And in the drawer you stay…unless I can sneak you into Keith’s lunch, where you have a 50/50 chance of being consumed. 

I regret to inform you that I’ve updated my Mama Organics profile and will no longer be receiving oranges in my organic delivery.  You are one of the least contaminated fruits thanks to your thick peel.  Because of this, I can easily (and inexpensively) find a non-organic orange at any ol’ grocery store.  Please don’t take this to heart.  It’s not you, it’s me and my laziness.  The apple is just easier to grab and go, no mess nor peeling required.   Unfortunately your cousin OJ, with all of its added sugar, won’t make it into this tummy either.  I will try to find ways to bring us together again.  Afterall, your health benefits are extraordinary.  

As a farewell to you, I cooked this dish last night.  Your zest and freshly squeezed juice gave the chicken a refreshing twist.   I will hold on to this recipe and therefore, may be seeing you sooner than we think.

Regrettably yours,

Me. Myself. And Food.

Orange Chicken

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons melted butter (I used coconut oil to make it dairy-free)
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped onion
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried rosemary, crumbled
  • pinch black pepper
  • 1 cup orange juice (freshy squeezed using my new citrus juicer)
  • grated rind of 1 orange

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Arrange the chicken breasts in a 13 x 9 x 2″ baking dish
  3. Drizzle the chicken with the melted butter and sprinkle with paprika.
  4. Combine the remaining ingredients and pour over the chicken.
  5. Bake uncovered for 15 minutes, until fork tender, basting occasionally with the pan juices.
5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 4:28 am

    A-PEEL FOR THE ORANGE!

    Always best to start a comment with a “Lucy Joke”!

    Okay Danielle, I feel to appeal your axing of the Orange from your list. I feel as though the orange gets overlooked because of that little extra effort that goes into eating them. And often, people don’t think to incorporate them in daily dishes.

    Living in Milan with small refrigerators, hotel mini bar size, I have come to depend on few items in my fridge… two of which are now oranges (more specifically here in Milan I buy blood oranges because they are everywhere and delicious) and fennel.

    Here is the basis for my favourite go-to salad! Its really simple, delicious, and refreshing. Possibly you have had this or a variation of this before! Cut the skin/pith off your orange, chop it, and add everything to the blow, including the juice that comes out (this is the best part)– Maybe it is best ot use a cutting board with the reservoir around the edge to catch the juice. Then chop some fennel and throw it in as well (if the frowns are attached to the fennel put them in, they add great colour and texture). Then simply dress with GOOD olive oil, balsamic vinegar, Salt and Pepper. That’s it! Its best if you let this sit awhile. I actually think it takes best the next day!

    This is a great salad to make use of oranges. And even better then your regular salad that if you don’t finish you have to throw in the garbage, you can have left overs for the next day, and even the day after that. Of course you can start to add other ingredients to change it up, such as red onion, mixed greens, whatever you want. Even though its common to add fruit to salad maybe it’s not the immediate reaction to use an orange. But in my opinion it is the perfect fruit to use for such an occasion.

    Especially with summer around the corner, I feel it is too soon to guillotine the orange. Especiall with all this heavy food around me, pizza, pasta, risotto…… uuugh…… this is the perfect dish to give me a break from all the heaviness of Italy’s starchy foods, and refresh my palate and stomach!

    Just my humble opinion! Perhaps you can give the orange another go! Or the blood orange!

    • April 7, 2010 4:29 am

      Wow I am a D’Angela…. look at the length of that comment!!!

    • April 7, 2010 11:54 pm

      Geesh, you should start a blog of your own! Great stuff! I was excited to hear about your suggestion for the underutlized orange, but that excitement fizzled when I noticed its pairing – fennel. There are very few foods that I dislike. Figures, anything that tastes like black licorice – anise, ouzo, fennel – falls in this category.

      All that said, I will trust you on this one. I sense your passion for the orange/fennel recipe based on the length of your comment:) I also know that fennel is great for digestion, so that’s incremental motivation. Thanks for sharing and wish me luck!

Trackbacks

  1. Mama comes to the rescue « Me. Myself. And Food
  2. I’m in love with a kitchen gadget « Me. Myself. And Food

Leave a Reply

