Skip to content

I got reprimanded by my waiter

April 18, 2010

I had a funny moment last night I thought I should share.  Keith, his sister Leigh, and I ventured out to a French restaurant for dinner:  Bistro 110 was recommended by the concierge at our hotel, and rightly so.  If it was up to me, I would have picked Japanese or Mediterranean or anything else for that  matter.  French  food does not excite me.  Correction:  I didn’t THINK it excited me, which is why I’ve only had it a handful of times.   My indifference was challenged at Bistro 110, located downtown Chicago – which by the way, is now my favourite US city.   Surprisingly this has nothing to do with their food fare. 

Keith and Leigh would have preferred Chicago’s infamous deep dish pizza, but they were stuck with me and my restrictions.  Call me crazy but I don’t think deep dish joints cater the the GF (gluten-free) crowd.  So Keith filled his pizza-void with the equally satisfying Steak Frites.  

When we first arrived, I made the waiter aware of my dietary restrictions and he took them quite seriously.  I should have clarified that it wasn’t an allergy because this guy was watching my every move. 

When the fresh baguette alongside roasted garlic and butter arrived at the table I could have cried.  I was in a French restaurant for goodness sake!   All I wanted was a bite of  French bread with soft butter and garlic.    Instead I ate multiple pieces of roasted garlic.  And that’s it.  Finally came my meal.  I had the fabulous Rosemary Salmon with roasted veggies (whole carrots, parsnips, squash, peppers, zucchini).   Leigh’s mussels may have been the best I’ve ever tasted.   They were meaty and steamed perfectly.

When Keith’s dish came to the table my hand immediately dove into his plate for some “frites”.   As the crispy pieces of potato entered my mouth I saw the waiter make a mad dash for our table .  Picture this in slow motion….a French waiter waving his finger at me and yelling “You can’t eat that!”  just as the frites were touching my tongue.   What did I do?   Pulled the handful right back out of my mouth.  Apparently they were fried in the same oil as their wheat-based foods.   Not a classy thing to do at a Bistro, but this guy scared the crap out of me.  

Keith and Leigh claimed that “the frites weren’t that good”.    However, I found it odd that there were only crumbs left on the plate when we left.   Gotta give them credit for trying.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Leigh permalink
    April 19, 2010 9:38 pm

    It happened exactly like that! But… the frites were not the best I’ve had so you didn’t miss all that much I swear!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Blame it on Roy | Me. Myself. and Food.
  2. Blame it on Roy « Me. Myself. And Food

Leave a Reply

