Skip to content

My Sprouting Experiment

May 1, 2010

We already know why eating sprouted foods is so good for us.  Don’t we?  Let me recap just in case.    Sprouting brings seeds to life so enzymes,  phytochemicals, vitamins, minerals and nutrients become readily available so seeds are:   

  • Easier to digest – proteins, fat and carbs are partially broken down when sprouted
  • A nutritional powerhouse – vitamins and minerals are in abundance
  • Healthier – sprouts are plant-based whole foods which are unadultered (can’t get any closer to the actual grain than this!)

 Why am I talking about sprouts again?  Well, I just finished reading Thrive Fitness by Brendan Brazier, the ‘Professional Ironman Triathlete’ and brain child for the whole food nutrition brand called “Vega”.  I was enlightened by all of Brendan’s tips for achieving optimal health on a 100% plant-based diet, which motivated me to try one of his recipes.  The energy bars.  This Elimination Diet has limited my options for on-the-go snacks to nuts and rice cakes, which I’m sick of.  These bars could save me from food boredom.   

I ventured out to St. Lawrence Market to pick up one of the gluten-free ingredients for the bars – sprouted buckwheat.   Uncle George’s didn’t have any on hand.    My choices were:  (a) I suck it up and continue eating nuts and rice cakes everyday OR (b) I try sprouting my own buckwheat.  I was intimidated by the latter, but I was up for the task.     

I’m pleased to announce that my sprouting experiment actually worked and I have sprouted buckwheat sitting in my fridge at this very moment!   It’s pretty darn simple (and quite a fascinating process).  

Here’s how you SPROUT Buckwheat:

    

1) Buy organic RAW buckwheat groats or other seeds, nuts, legumes that you want to sprout.  Kasha is the toasted form of buckwheat which will not sprout.  Sprouting buckwheat is slightly different versus other seeds, so you’ll want to confirm the process for the particular seed you’re working with.  This site provides an overview for other seeds.     

Buckwheat Groats freshly purchased

2) Rinse groats multiple times until the slimey feeling from the starch is gone.      

3) Soak groats in bowl of water for 1 hour.  Water should completely cover the groats plus 1 inch.     

Soaking buckwheat in water

4)  Rinse again really well and drain.  Then place groats in a fine strainer and rest over bowl (to catch any remaining water).  Place bowl out of direct sunlight (on your counter should be fine).     

At 12 hours - Groats are starting to sprout!

5)  Rinse the groats every 6 hours or so keeping them in the strainer the whole time.  Drain and place the strainer on the bowl again for another 6 hours.   I worked during the day so it was a little longer than 6 hours.  Based on what I’ve read, 3 times per day works.  You may start to see little tails forming after the second or third rinse.     

6) Rinse and repeat #5 for a total of 1.5 to 2 days.       

At 12 hours - Starting to sprout

You can even see the tails peeking out the bottom of the strainer.  Kinda creeps me out, but at leat I know it’s working!     

Groats in the strainer (and sprouts poking out)

7)  And finally, after 24 hours, buckwheat sprouts are fully grown.      

The final product - buckwheat sprouts!

8)  You’ll want to transfer the sprouts to a container with a lid and refrigerate to stop the sprouts from molding.   Go ahead and throw a couple of these babies in your mouth.  Don’t be shy.  You can eat them like so or throw them in your salad, toast them lightly if you want some crunch or…be creative.     

However, my work here is not done.  Tomorrow I’ll be completing Part II of this experiment – making my own energy bar.  Wish me luck and stay tuned.     

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2010 3:52 pm

    some energy bars are just too sweet for my own taste. is there a sugar free energy bar? ,“

  2. Josie permalink
    May 3, 2010 11:34 am

    Hey Danielle,
    pretty cool. I’ve heard about making your own sprouts. I actually saw a kit at the Home show in toronto for pea sprouts. Where would you find raw buckwheat sprouts? By the way, you should look at trying a product called Shiritaki. http://lowcarbdiets.about.com/od/products/p/shiratakinoodle.htm

    They are amazing. I use them all the time instead of pasta.

    • May 5, 2010 2:31 pm

      Hi Josie – I get my sprouts at St Lawrence Market but I did some research and Toronto Sprouts are available at Farah Foods in Hamilton (at 387 Barton St E). I’m pretty sure other health food stores such as Whole Foods or Goodness Me would carry them. You can also find raw buckwheat groats (not kasha) at any bulk food store, but I would recommend buying organic where possible.

      And thanks for introducing me to the Shiritaki noodle. Looks like they are gluten free so I’ll have to give them a go! Just need to do a bit more research on how they’re made, etc. Trying to stay away from heavily processed packaged foods where possible.

  3. November 29, 1999 7:00 pm

    I am making raw sprouted granola out of buckwheat, quinoa, almonds, flax, chia, and honey. Most granolas that are actually good for you are so expensive, and most of those are very sweet and fairly high in sugars.
    I actually havnt had much experience in sprouting, so thank you for your instructions on buckwheat srouting!
    Much love in Christ,
    Valary-mac <

Trackbacks

  1. Kitchen Counter Gardening » My Sprouting Experiment (via Me. Myself. And Food)
  2. My Energy Bar Experiment – oops! | Me. Myself. and Food.
  3. My Sprouting Experiment (via Me. Myself. And Food) « Kitchen Counter Gardening
  4. My Energy Bar Experiement – oops! « Me. Myself. And Food

Leave a Reply

