Skip to content

My Energy Bar Experiment – oops!

May 6, 2010

Recipes don’t ALWAYS turn out the way we intend them to.  Right? 

Part II of my little experiment – the attempt to make energy bars with sprouted buckwheat – is proof of that.  If you recall, I sprouted buckwheat for the first time last week for the sole purpose of making this vegan recipe.   The verdict from the 2 part experiment: 

First off, the bars look like a piece of crap – literally!   I only had a tiny bite (because dried fruit is a no-no on the Elimination Diet), but according to my guinea pig Keith, the flavour of the nutmeg was a bit overpowering.  As usual, I didn’t fully agree with him but I enjoy nutmeg.    The biggest disappointment was the texture of these ‘bars’.   They had the consistency of a liquified cookie batter, so molding them into bars was rather challenging and more lumpy.  This didn’t help considering they already looked like crap.    

My first attempt at energy "bars"

What happened?  Well…I innocently altered the recipe by replacing dates for the figs.  This may have been the reason, or shall I say, a ‘recipe’ for disaster.  Ha. I’m full of puns tonight 😉   I tried to resurrect them by adding some dry ingredients…1/2 cup of sesame seeds, 1/4 cup of buckwheat and a 1/4 cup of cocao hemp protein powder.    This helped thicken the batter, but they still didn’t live up to what you would expect for a “bar”.   Good thing they tasted decent and were edible.   We just had to resort  to eating them with spoons to make sure they ended up in our mouths versus on the floor.   

Here’s the recipe.  I encourage you to give it a try.  

Banana Fig Cinnamon Energy Bar (recipe care of Thrive Fitness
  • 3/4 cup soaked dried figs  (I used dates but you may want to rethink this substitution)
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 small banana
  • 1/2 cup sprouted buckwheat (or substitute cooked)
  • Sea salt to taste
  • 2 tbsp hemp seeds

Directions:  Process everything (except hemp seeds) in a food processor.  Once you cut the bars you can sprinkle the hemp seeds on top.   How simple is that!   Or at least I thought it was, until I had the final product in front of me.  Mushy bars.  

Despite this pseudo failure, I have not been defeated.   I’m over it and will try again.  This chinese proverb  seems fitting right for the moment: “Failure is not falling down but refusing to get back up”.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

