Skip to content

Go fish, but choose wisely

May 10, 2010
tags:

I don’t know about you, but I can hardly keep track of what’s OK to eat and what’s not when it comes to fish – farmed, wild, Pacific, Atlantic.  I feel a headache coming on just thinking about it.    

My initial goal WAS to try to get as much of the healthy fats from fish in my daily diet.   There’s a piece of fish on my plate at least 4 times per week, so my goal has now evolved to making sure I’ve got the RIGHT fish on my plate.  I had no idea whether I was contributing to the depletion of certain species or taking in too many toxins in my attempt to get more omega 3s and so on.   

Well, during the Fish 101 cooking class at Calphalon, we were given a cheat sheet from SeaChoice categorizing fish and seafood based on their sustainability and safety. To get it online go to the Resource section of the SeaChoice site and select “Canada’s Seafood Guide”.  It’s a handy little tool…when I remember to bring it with me to the grocery store.  Which is rare.  Once in the past 4 months, if you must know.  So I end up at the grocery store racking my brain and trying to remember whether it was haddock or halibut that was safe to eat.   

SeaChoice's Fish Alert Card

This weekend, I solved my dilemma.  I took a photo of the cheat sheet with my phone!  What a novel idea, eh?  I’m a little embarrassed I didn’t think of it month ago given that I work in the mobile phone business.  Anyway, back to fish.  

I was having the family over for Mother’s Day dinner tonight and Orange Roughy made it on the menu.   I headed to the grocery store to purchase 8 servings of the meaty white fish, then I remembered to check my newly photographed cheatsheet.  What have we here?  SeaChoice claims we should AVOID Orange Roughy?  That was that.  The Roughy was nixed and the farmed rainbow trout was in.  I was surprised to see that farmed fish is OK in some cases, but I’ll put my trust in these SeaChoice folks.  Afterall, the David Suzuki Foundation has some association with it, and David seems like he knows what he’s talking about.  

Most fish are labelled as farmed or wild as well as with their country of origin.  But that only gets you so far.  Ask the highschool kid behind the counter whether the fish was caught via longline or trawl and he may look at you as if you have 2 heads.  If you’re as anal as me, you can call the store in advance or email the head office to get the information.  Good luck fishing! 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Misty permalink
    May 11, 2010 8:55 pm

    As luck would have it, this post was a huge help in the grocery store this afternoon! I was doing the usual “this or that” fish dance and it occured to me ” iphone + wireless = fish chart!” Thanks! 🙂

  2. Coach Patti permalink
    May 10, 2010 6:37 pm

    How smart you are! Great work getting that information into one place where you can find everything you need – the Windows phone. I agree, eating fish has gotten to be very confusing so congratulations on taking the necessary steps to make sure you’re eating safe for you and safe for the planet food. Next time you’re in Seattle, we’ll hit seafood instead of vegetarian.

Leave a Reply

