Skip to content

Hibiscus Cafe (Part 2) – Restaurant Review

June 9, 2010

Yesterday I divulged my love for Hibiscus Cafe and that I couldn’t get enough of it.  Well, I’m clearly a woman of my word.  After leaving my doctor’s appointment in Liberty Village this morning, I kept driving north (and a little East) until I found myself in Kensington Market.   With Hibiscus’ limited hours, I had to take advantage of the fact that I was in the vicinity, with a car (because of the rain) and had a 60 minute window before my next meeting. 

I made my detour worthwhile, ordering two of their salad bowls and a crepe to go.  So both lunch and dinner were taken care of for almost 2 days.   Plus I snuck in a few photos during the 7 minutes I ended up waiting. 

The first photo I had to snap was of the organic, local, gluten-free, vegan desserts staring right at me, saying “eat me, eat me”.  I was a good girl and walked out empty-handed.  Although, I can’t claim pure innocence…I loaded up on mini “samples” of their pumpkin pie squares while I waited.    Gosh, I’m hoping they don’t read this! 

Hibiscus Dessert Bar

I told you (and raved) about the salad bowl and ice cream in my first review of Hibiscus.  This time I ventured into crepe land.

Buckwheat Crepe ($9) –  I have a thing for crepes so I was still extremely anxious to taste their healthier take on it.   It might have been all the pent-up excitement, or my familiarity with the typical chocolate-smothered dessert crepe, but this savoury version didn’t live up to expectations.   It was stuffed with warm spinach, mushroom, tomatoes and basil lending a fresh “out of the garden” taste, without the dirt.   With most bites, the basil was the overpowering flavour.  It may have been better  balanced with a dose of cheese or some type of spread.  From my point of view, cheese goes hand-in-hand with crepes and it was the missing link.  But this was no fault of Hibiscus.  I had requested the dairy-free version.  

Overall it was good but gets no gold star, especially for $9.  The star goes to their salad.  Which also gets points for being $2 less.  Call me frugal, but I know a good deal when I see one!

Hibiscus Spinach, Mushroom, Tomato Crepe

Check out the rest of the photos and Hibiscus review right here.

Leave a Reply

