Skip to content

I scream, you scream…we all scream for (vegan) ice cream

June 21, 2010

I used to make a special trip to Canada’s Wonderland for their funnel cakes (known as beaver tails to some).  If you’ve never experienced one of these, close your eyes and picture this:  deep-fried batter drenched with strawberry sauce (or chocolate or caramel), soft vanilla ice cream, and then a sprinkle of icing sugar.  

Not an ounce of nutritional value here, but this concern fades quickly when you catch a whiff of the fried batter.  The innate desire for immediate gratification takes over, you indulge and pay for it later (with cramps and/or guilt).  

My other indulgence is Dairy Queen.  Their blizzards are my achilles heel and I am a member of the Blizzard Fan Club.  Enough said. 

My oh my, have things changed.  Nowadays, I make that “special” trip to Kensington Market for the dairy-free  ice cream and desserts at Hibiscus.  I’ve accepted this as the dessert alternative for the immediate term.  

They have about 10 flavours of ice cream and I will try every single one of them.  On separate occasions of course.    

This time I decided to experiment with their Black Sesame ice cream.  It was the waitress’ reaction that influenced my decision. When I asked about this flavour, her eyes lit up like a small child at Christmas and she signalled her approval with two thumbs up.   How could I say no to that? 

Black Sesame Vegan Ice Cream

A few moments later I saw the cup of foreign flavoured ice cream coming out of the kitchen.  I had no idea what this would taste like, so I can’t say it was what I expected, or it wasn’t.  What I can tell you is that it was…interesting.  

It was unusually speckled with bits of black and grey, had a grainy texture and a mild flavour.  The sweetness was subdued in comparison to the raspberry coconut.   I learned that the ice cream was made from mung beans which gave it this consistency.   Unlike the funnel cake, the combination of mung bean and Black Sesame seeds give ths ice cream its nutritional benefits.    For example, mung beans are a legume and considered a “superfood” because of the health perks they provide:  high in protein, fiber, folic acid, Vitamin C and many more nutrients.  It’s a win-win!  

I did enjoy it but I wouldn’t rank the Black Sesame above the Raspberry.  It gets a 6.5 out of 10.  

 I’ll pause on the experimentation and save the Earl Grey ice cream for another time.  Mango is looking good for now.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

