Skip to content

Garlic lovers, meet garlic scapes.

June 30, 2010
tags: ,

These green snake-like vegetables showed up in my organic delivery this week and I had no clue what they were, or what to do with them.  At first glance they looked like green onions on steroids.   Then I reviewed the delivery sheet which lists out all of the items in your basket.  I ran my finger down the list until I found something that just might describe these twisted vegetables.  Grapefruit, tomatoes, red onion, radishes, garlic scapes…ah ha!  This had to be it.

Garlic Scapes - Raw

Mama Earth Organics does a great job providing recipes or tips & tricks for any uncommon produce they sneak into your delivery.   So I had a sneaking suspicion there would be something for these so-called “garlic scapes”.  And there it was.

Roasted Garlic Scapes

I had these as a side dish for my dinner tonight.  They were surprising REALLY good and cooking them was REALLY simple.  Now, that’s my kind of veggie.

Ingredients:

  • Rinsed garlic scapes
  • Olive oil to coat them (I used coconut oil)
  • Sprinkle of sea salt

Directions:

  • Roast them in the over at 425 degrees for 20 minutes.  The ends started to burn so I turned down the heat a little mid way through.  They would be great done on the BBQ as well.

Garlic Scapes - Cooked with sea salt

The scapes are somewhat awkward to eat whole because they curl and poke you in the eye.   So learning from experience, I suggest you cut them up if you want to walk away from your dinner unscathed.   Otherwise, if you’re a garlic lover you’ve found another friend in garlic scapes.  They have this wonderful flavour that’s similar to roasted garlic cloves, but without the potency.  

Nutrionally, garlic scapes are comparable to the garlic bulb itself.  Just to name a few:

  • Lowers blood pressure & LDL Cholesterol 
  • Helps to regulate blood sugar
  • Relieves pain from toothaches
  • Has antioxidant properties

More on its nutritional benefits here.

The question is where to find garlic scapes.  This week I’m making it my mission to find out!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 30, 2010 5:09 am

    It sounds interesting! I’ve never tried cooking it this way before! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

