Skip to content

Black Bean and Avocado Salad

July 18, 2010

It’s been a hectic few weeks with my father’s 60th birthday, moving preparations and my little brother’s wedding this Saturday.  Despite the madness, I managed to find 15 minutes to prepare this refreshing dish – our only homemade meal this week. 

I briefly alluded to this fantastic bean salad in my last post with the hopes of getting it up here a day or so later.  I was a little too ambitious, so I apologize for the suspense.  

Black Bean and Avocado Bean Salad 

I would never in my wildest dreams think to flip through a Reader’s Digest magazine for my next meal.   This salad has proven me wrong and is going into my repetoire of staple recipes.  It’s healthy, hearty, effortless and perfect for large groups or pot lucks, especially in the summer.  

Black Bean and Avocado Salad

It calls for a few vegetables, but I give you permission to be creative and add any veggies that tickle your fancy.   Go ahead, don’t be shy.  I made a few other modifications myself: 

  • Added 1 cup of roasted asparagus and half a cucumber
  • Replaced the orange juice with lime juice
  • Omitted the cheese, chilis/jalapeno and chives
  • Reduced the amount of corn to one cup and used organic variety (more for colour)

The combination of rice vinegar and lime juice provides a sweet undertone and satisfies the sweet tooth, so you can skip dessert altogether.  I wish.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. amanda permalink
    July 30, 2010 10:19 am

    So after our food chats at Cyn’s Bachelorette I knew I had to visit your set-up here and check it out; and I’m so glad I did! I’m happy to report that I’ve already tried my hand at two of your recipe posts and loved them! I made this delish dish at the cottage last weekend and it was a total hit! I think I might be your newest loyal blog reader 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Simple Lemon Garlic Chicken « Me. Myself. And Food

Leave a Reply

