Skip to content

Brunch at Bonjour Brioche – Restaurant Review

September 12, 2010

I shouldn’t have done it.  I should not have been so naive to think that I could stop at one bite of Bonjour Brioche’s French Toast.  I was managing just fine with my gluten-free and vegan ‘desserts’ but I had to give in.  Now, I’m paying for it.  French Toast is all I can think about.   

Bonjour Brioche

LOCATION:   812 Queen Street East, Toronto (Leslieville) 

THE MENU

Being one of Toronto’s token brunch spots, it’s no surprise that fifty percent of the menu is focused on breakfast fare including omelettes and quiches (which are supposed to be quite good).  Bonjour Brioche also ventured into lunch territory with a selection of about 10 sandwiches.  All sandwich fixings are nestled between the bakery’s baked breads or baguettes.   A few slices of their baguette is also served with breakfast dishes so you’re not missing out.  Despite this brunch spot’s popularity and long lines, menu items are surprising priced modestly (but let’s keep that to ourselves).  One other thing to keep in mind is that they only accept cash.   

OUR ORDER

Fresh Juice ($3.75) –  Gets a 7/10.  They had a few flavours scribbled on the board, so Keith decided to give all of the above a try with his strawberry banana orange concoction.  An attempt to stave off his hunger.   I had a sip and it was quite good.  Much better than the Tropicana version.  Also a little thicker, which if you want to get technical makes it more of a smoothie than a juice per se.  

Strawberry Banana Orange Juice

Scrambled eggs ($10) –  Gets a 7/10. Ninety-five percent of the time I go for over hard eggs at breakfast, but last Saturday the smoked salmon swung me over to the scrambled side.   No regrets.  Although, I can’t fully comment on the dish since I ordered it without the creamed horse-radish.   And in my dining experience, the sauce makes the dish.  In this case, I was still content with my portion of simple scrambled eggs sprinkled chives, topped with succulent smoked salmon and caviar.  Yum.   The shredded potato patty looked tasty but didn’t deliver on flavour.  Truthfully, nothing on my plate had a chance in comparison to Keith’s French Toast. 

Scrambled Eggs with Smoked Salmon

Baked French Toast ($8.50) –  Get’s a 9/10.   Ordering the French Toast might have been one of the smartest decisions my boyfriend has ever made.  I’ve always been more of a pancake or egg girl but that’s likely because I’ve never tasted French Toast like this before. Never.  Ignoring my Elimination Diet, I snuck a tiny piece of Keith’s French Toast (which looked nothing like french toast by the way) and it was heavenly.   In taste and appearance, it resembled bread pudding and was oozing with sweetness;  so much that the serving of syrup was completely unnecessary.  When I witnessed Keith’s glowing expression after his first bite, I dove in and cut a piece for myself.  I then cut that piece in half .  If this was all I was getting, I was going to make it last and savour it.  I took the first nibble and almost drooled.  Goodness gracious!  What was in the piece of heaven?!  Nevermind – I did NOT want to know.  Going back to my scrambled eggs was such a bummer.  Thankfully I had something to look forward to – the other half of Keith’s dessert.  I mean French Toast.  

Baked (heavenly) French Toast

THE SCENE

Picture a crowded Parisian bakery with wait staff dodging in and out of tightly spaced tables decorated with floral printed clothes.  Now put it on the corner Queen Street East and Degrassi Street and ta da!  You have Bonjour Brioche.  

YOU SHOULD GO IF

  • It’s too early in the day for real dessert but your taste buds are begging for something sweeter than sweet. 
  • You can resist the sight and smell of freshly baked bread.  Escaping either at Bonjour Brioche is not an option, so having the will power to say ‘no’ to bread will come in handy.  Unless you need to gain a few pounds.
  • You dream about traveling to France and indulging on freshly baked baguettes in their local boulangerie.  Save yourself the 7 hour flight and travel budget.  You can easily pretend here.

Bonjour Brioche on Urbanspoon

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2010 9:45 am

    Hahhaa, great review! You can NEVER stop at just one bite of French Toast 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Frankly Eatery – Restaurant Review « Me. Myself. And Food

Leave a Reply

