Skip to content

Costco’s Cashew Clusters – Bet You Can’t Just Have One

October 4, 2010
tags:

An innocent trip to Costco always gets me into trouble.   I walk in with the intention of buying a few “necessities” and end up spending my paycheck on “stuff” I hardly need or have room for.  Then there’s the endless samples.  Every corner I turn there she is…an apron-clad woman offering bite-sized pieces of double cheese pizza, caramel brownie cheesecake or something else I really shouldn’t be eating.  That’s when I start rationalizing my next move;  it’s just a tiny piece, it’s within arms reach and it’s free.   Who could possibly say NO to that?   One turns into two, two turns into ten, and before I know it I’ve exceeded my caloric quota for the day.    

When I’m not eating everything in my path, I’m tossing it into my cart.   I have a few standard purchases including almond butter, Lara Bars, avocados, quinoa, walnuts, etc.  But there’s usually a few newbies that sneak their way into my cart.   This week it was the delicious and dangerous Cashew Clusters.  

It’s the Kirkland brand but have no fear.  These clusters of cashews, almonds and pumpkin seeds are the perfect snack when you’re craving something crunchy and sweet (made with cane juice).   As healthy as nuts are, you need to go easy on these.  Addictive + high in calories and fat = bad news.  I suggest keeping them at a distance or taking just a few with you in a ziplock bag.  Otherwise you’ll be cursing me in a few weeks.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2012 7:15 am

    I am hooked on these!! I bought some yesterday to try and they are SO good!!

  2. Dot.Lisa permalink
    April 30, 2011 5:25 pm

    As long as you only eat 5-pieces a day you can know you’ve eaten a healthy does of healthy fats. I take 5 to work and if I want more; there aren’t more.

    ….As long as you only eat 5-pieces a day!

    I’m trying to lose weight (desperately) and part of my relationship with food is that under eat. I NEED these clusters FOR the calories and for the healthy fats. But yeah, I just ate one and began looking around for the next one. 🙂

  3. Kelly permalink
    March 2, 2011 1:51 am

    Hi Danielle,

    My dad just came back from a recent trip to Nevada with two bags of these Cashew Clusters. He just can’t stop raving about them. But like you said– they’re seriously addictive– so needless to say, they’re almost all gone!

    I was hoping to be able to find him some back home in Toronto and searched around the web for some leads (including the Canadian Costco site), but had no luck. Would you be able to tell me which Costco location you purchased these from, or if they’re even still available? I’m just curious, because you published this entry back in October, but Costco can sometimes phase products out (unfortunately).

    Thanks so much!

    • March 2, 2011 8:05 pm

      Aren’t they deadly? My mouth is watering just thinking about them. Well, I made a few phone calls and you’re in luck! They still carry them at the Costco in Etobicoke. Address and contact info below. Have an extra cluster for me! I’m on a 30 day cleanse so no clusters will touch these lips for a little while.

      50 Queen Elizabeth Blvd
      Etobicoke, Ontario M8Z 1M1
      (416) 251-2832

      • Kelly permalink
        March 3, 2011 3:25 pm

        Ah, you’re the best! Thanks so much for going through the trouble of calling around for me. My dad and I really appreciate it! He was sooo happy to hear the good news haha. And I’m sure we’ll have more than enough extra clusters to make up for your cleanse 😉

        Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

