Skip to content

Lemon & Herb Pan-Fried Trout

October 10, 2010

When I was a kid, I loved watching and helping my grandparents tend to their garden.   My favourite part – eating their freshly picked tomatoes.  Every now and again my nonna saves me a few and it’s then that I remember what real tomatoes should taste like.  I’ve always dreamed of having a garden of my own.  It will continue to be a dream of mine for the next few years, or until we have a home with a backyard or some sort of growing space.   Our new home has a deck, but not a smidgen of grass or soil to accommodate a tomato plant.    

So in the absence of a real garden, I will settle for the next best thing – a pot of fresh herbs.  I purchased one in the spring and the poor thing didn’t know what it had coming.  Truth is that I don’t do well with plants.  Especially the variety that require nurturing and regular doses of water.   Unless someone or something reminds me, plants will go unwatered for days.  Sometimes weeks.

My herb "garden"

The home for my miniature herb garden was out on our back porch, which was out of sight and out of mind.  My rosemary and lavender suffered as a result.  Other herbs miraculously managed to survive the neglect.  On multiple occasions I would find the basil and parsley leaves shriveled up, then with a dose of water they would spring back to life.  Pretty amazing to see actually.   I wondered whether these herbs had nine lives, but I wasn’t willing to test my hypothesis.   Instead, I wanted to make sure they were put to good use before my luck ran out.  

So I searched for a recipe with “fresh herbs” and I came across this dish.   It gets a gold star.

 

Lemon and Herb Pan-Fried Trout

 Ingredients:

  • 4 (6 ounce) fillet of rainbow trout (recipe calls for orange roughy or red snapper)
  • 1/3 cup lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons minced fresh parsley
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons minced fresh basil
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon paprika
  • Tablespoon of coconut (or other) oil

Directions:

  1. Sprinkle the fish fillets with lemon juice with parsley, basil, salt and garlic powder. 
  2. Heat skillet with oil and once it gets hot, place the fish fillets (herb side up) in a single layer.
  3. Cook for a few minutes until brown on one side, then flip (herb side down) for another few minutes.
  4. Add lemon juice and bring to a boil. 
  5. Reduce heat.  Cover and simmer for 6-8 minutes or until fish flakes easily with a fork.
  6. Sprinkle with paprika.

And here she is…

It might not be the prettiest fried fillet you’ve ever seen but it tastes fabulous.  In hindsight, I should have shot this on nice platter to up the esthetic quality of the fish.   Oh well, I just feel better knowing that a few of my salvaged herbs were part of this masterpiece:)

I can’t take the credit for this though; it’s a modification of the Herbed Orange Roughy recipe from All Recipes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

