Skip to content

Back on the Elimination Diet band wagon

October 16, 2010

It’s been a slippery slope and I’ve been going down it at a rapid rate.   Good thing my butt has a little more cushioning than usual:)   Remember all those things I was trying to avoid (wheat/gluten, dairy, sugar, alcohol)?    Well, I’ve since reincorporated them back into my diet and my body isn’t happy about it – I’m being punished with a runny nose, bloated belly, mild cramps, etc.   My mistake was reintroducing all these foods at once, so I really don’t know what my body is reacting to.

The journey downhill started at my brother’s wedding back in July.  First a glass of wine for toasting (and to get me through my speech), then a cheese-stuffed cannelloni, followed by a slice of wedding cake.  No biggie right?  It was one evening.   Well, that one evening turned into one week, which turned into one month…  

I think I was in denial.   I would find myself in the kitchen or at a restaurant sneaking a slice of bread, a piece of cheese or a cookie when Keith (or whomever I was with) was distracted or engaged in conversation.    I would proceed to jam the forbidden food into my mouth, gulping in whole, hoping no one would catch me in the act.   I believed that if I ate the cookie really fast it never actually happened.  It’s like playing hide n’ seek with a toddler.  They cover their eyes believing they cannot be seen.  The difference – I’m a 31-year-old woman. 

Combine the poor eating with no exercise and that’s a disaster waiting to happen.  I can count on one hand the number of times I’ve gotten my heart rate up in the past 60 days, since we moved and I cancelled my gym membership.   

The result – I’ve LOST the will power and GAINED a few pounds.  My body is pleading for the old Danielle back.  I need to put an end to this and there is no better time than now (conveniently AFTER Thanksgiving). 

So I treated this past weekend like it was my last supper.  There was no calorie counting.  Lucky for me, I had not ONE but TWO Thanksgiving dinners to attend. 

It started at Keith’s parents’ house.  Every year I’m amazed with how much food his mom can whip up in one afternoon.  We had enough food for a small hungry army.  

My Thanksgiving Dinner – Part One

The stuffing at the bottom of my plate is Keith’s absolute favourite – his grandmother’s recipe.   Last year, Keith begged to learn how to make this and got his wish – we got a behind the scenes look at what goes into this “to die for” stuffing.    The secret ingredient is turkey sausage which is NOT diet friendly.  One of MY personal favourites is the cheesy broccoli and cauliflower casserole on the bottom left.   The crispy cheese gets me every time.

Then came dessert.  A slice of pumpkin pie and über rich chocolate mouse cake with a dollop of whipped cream, then I called it a night. 

Thanksgiving Dessert - Part One

I went for a light jog the next morning to work up an appetite for the next big meal at my Nonna’s house.  Take what you see below, then multiply it by two.  I have a reputation for stealing food off other people’s plate and being one of few females who religiously go up for seconds.  Why break the trend now?

My Thanksgiving Dinner - Part Two

In my family, it’s not unusual to have as many dessert options as meal items.  That poses a problem for people like myself who have a personal rule to fulfil –  “Thou must sample all dessert“.   I did not disobey. 

Pumpkin Pie (fabulously made for the first time by my new sister in-law, Cynthia), cheesecake (homemade by my Aunt Lina who never disappoints), peach pie (by my mom, my cooking idol) and flipped upsidedown strawberry pie (also made with love by Cyn).    I savoured every bite until the paper plate looked good as new. What you don’t see is my Aunt Lana’s chocolate cake, which I snuck a piece of every time I conveniently passed the dessert table. 

My Thanksgiving Dessert(s) - Part Two

Did I feel guilty?  Not even a bit.  In fact, I’m prepared to do it all over again at Christmas. 

For now though, it’s over.  Join me three weeks from nowfor the reintroduction of one of my forbidden foods.  Wait!  I have a better idea – join me now and give this Elimination Diet a shot.  I could use some company!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Alexandra Charette permalink
    October 16, 2010 12:37 am

    Struggling to get back on the wagon myself! So I’ll do this Elimination Diet with you! Although I think eliminating alcohol is out of the question for me.. especially with Oktoberfest this weekend.
    Best of luck!!

    • October 27, 2010 12:13 am

      Yes, wine has been a tough one for me as well. I’ve been having 2 glasses a week which isn’t horrible but not ideal. I figure if I eat well most of the time I deserve a small glass here and there, right? Lie to me if you have to.

Leave a Reply

