Skip to content

Salsa Chicken Wraps Recipe

October 17, 2010

After seven hours of furniture shopping, Keith and I strolled last night in with next to nothing, aside from a few throw pillows for our new couch and an appetite.   The fridge was looking sparse so I needed to get creative. 

I took a package of Rowe Farm’s ground chicken out of my freezer, let it thaw out in a bowl of water, then sat there scratching my head.   What next?  I had an “Aha” moment when I spotted a pack of corn tortillas (also purchased from Rowe Farms) in my fridge and…

Alba Lisa Gluten-Free Tortillas

This jar of Simply Natural Organic Salsa

I could have taken a photo of the English side, but thought I’d test your French skills;-)  I’m lying…this was clearly an error on my part.  I was distracted by my grumbling stomach. 

Simply Natural Organic Salsa

Out came my trusty recipe binder.   I flipped to the “Chicken” tab and pulled out the recipe for “Salsa Chicken Wraps“, care of Chatelaine Magazine.   Substantial modifications were in order, given that I had less than 50% of the listed ingredients.  

Looking at my changes to the ingredients below, it’s hardly the same recipe.  It was primarily used for inspiration and luck happened to be on my side – I was even impressed with my “fly by the seat of my pants” version of this.  

Keith usually tells me that he enjoys my cooking and says “Danielle, this [insert recipe name here] tastes REALLY good“, but I can tell he’s just being polite.  I heard the same thing tonight BUT I knew he actually meant it.  How?  Well, I didn’t hear the words “Gee, I’m getting full” after just a few bites.  Instead, he went up for seconds. 

Salsa Chicken

Salsa Chicken Wraps

Ingredients:

  • 1 onion
  • 1 red pepper (replaced this with 10 cherry tomatoes – closest thing I had since they’re both red)
  • 2 celery stalks (threw in a cup of cooked broccoli instead)
  • 1 tsp vegetable oil (used 1 tbsp of coconut oil)
  • 1 tbsp ground cumin (used 1.5 tbsp – I love my cumin)
  • 1/2 tsp hot chili flakes
  • 1 cup canned black beans, drained (n/a)
  • 1 lb of ground chicken or beef
  • 2/3 chunky salsa
  • 1/2 cup chopped cilantro (n/a)
  • Iceberg or Boston lettuce leaves or mesclun greens (or corn tortillas, ideally organic)

Directions:

  1. Coarsely chop onion, pepper and thinly slice celery.
  2. Heat oil of medium heat and add onion with 2 tbsp of water.  Stir often until soft (2 to 3 minutes).
  3. Crumble in chicken and sprinkle with cumin and chili flakes.  Stir often, breaking up chicken until it loses pink colour (3 to 5 minutes).
  4. Add pepper, celery, beans and salsa (or for my version, add tomatoes, broccoli and spinach). 
  5. Stir until veggies softened (2 to 4 minutes).
  6. Stir in cilantro and salt to taste (I didn’t add either since the salsa is salty on its own).
  7. If using corn tortillas, heat one at a time in a small skillet until warm.  Then scoop the chicken mixture onto each leaf (or tortilla).

The tortillas are quite tiny but that just means you can have more.  This was my first of three:)

Salsa Chicken on the Gluten-Free Tortilla

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

