Skip to content

Holy Crap!

November 17, 2010

I knew that would get your attention!   So did the entrepreneurs that came up with this risky and unconventional name for their product – Holy Crap.   I say it’s risky because it’s an edible product that they’re calling “crap”.   One thing I learned in my years of marketing is that you want a brand name that adequately describes your product and appeals to your consumers.  In Marketing 101…Crap + Food = Trouble.  After seeing the success of this product, I’m throwing that rule out the window. 

I was watching Dragon’s Den this evening when they presented “Holy Crap“, the healthy breakfast food, to the Dragons.   My ears perked up when I heard the words “natural” and “chia”.   That’s when I realized that this product wasn’t crap at all!    They first printed a “Holy Crap” label as a joke after one of their first customers left a message saying “Holy Crap…this stuff is amazing”.  Now the name makes a little more sense. 

Enough with the name.  Let’s get to the product. 

I’ve talked about Ruth’s Chia Goodness in the past, which is my standard breakfast.   Holy Crap is very similar.  The ingredients, the health benefits, the way you prepare it.    Both cereals are also wheat-free, gluten-free, lactose-free, vegan, high in iron and dietary fibre.  Chia seeds are the main ingredient which provide that soluble fiber and more omega-3’s than nearly every other natural food source.   Add chias to water or milk and watch them expand.  This swelling also occurs in your gut, making you feel full and is the reason they are recommended for weight loss.

Here’s an interesting fact from Natural News:  Since chia seeds have 19 amino acids (almost all essential amino acids, except one), you could live off chia almost exclusively. It also has more iron than spinach, more calcium than milk and even more antioxidants than blueberries. 

Jim Treliving, one of the investors on the Dragon’s Den, jumped at the opportunity to make a $120K investment in the husband and wife pair who own Holy Crap.  If I had $120K in my back pocket, I’d invest in a heartbeat too.  The best I can do is buy a few packs to support the Canadian couple.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. kim permalink
    March 12, 2015 7:49 am

    absolutely delicious….no complaints

  2. March 16, 2011 11:25 pm

    Hmmm…and here I was entertaining buying some but now I honestly think the better, and way more economical route, would be to make my own, or something similiar. I’m not so sure it should be called a “cereal” though…

  3. cheapie permalink
    January 31, 2011 10:52 am

    I purchased all of the ingredients for the cereal at Bulk Barn for $12. It made the equivalent of 3 bags of the cereal, which is approx $15 per bag if you include shipping.

    I could not imagine paying $15 for a tiny bag of “cereal” (which you can’t eat on it’s own), no matter how good it is for you.

    I made my own batch, more because I was curious how cheap I could do it for… and I’m warming up to it.

  4. moveebuff permalink
    January 12, 2011 8:23 pm

    I was excited to order Holy Crap cereal because I wanted to support Corin and Brian’s business. I ordered it Nov. 22nd and by Jan 4th I still hadn’t received my order. They apparantly lost it but I sent them the order # and it arrived a few days later. It is not what I was expecting. To me a cereal is something I can just pour into a bowl add milk and have breakfeast. Holy Crap is something that you add to another product and not to be eaten on it’s own because it has the consistency of bird seed. I doubt that I will be re ordering the product.

  5. Jennifer permalink
    January 1, 2011 9:18 pm

    I ordered Holy Crap on November 24th, and recieved it December 31. Apparently they had such a large number of orders that it took them quite a while to hire additional staff and fill them all.

    It is quite tasty, but very expensive. There are only 3 ingredients in it – chia seeds, hemp seeds and buckwheat. It costs less than half the price to purchase these 3 ingredients separately and mix them yourself. The website I use is http://www.nutsonline.com

    • January 2, 2011 6:05 pm

      Wow! Clearly Dragon’s Den did wonders for them…and unexpectedly so. I did notice that Holy Crap was quite pricey which is why I’m sticking with Ruth’s Chia Goodness. As I may have mentioned, you can pick up a bag for $4.99 in Kensington Market (that only helps if you’re from Toronto of course). The alternative is a DIY concoction as you mention. I have chia and hemp sitting in my fridge so I’ll give that a shot when my bag of Ruth’s runs dry. And when I run out of those, I’ll check out nutsonline.com. Thanks for the tip!

  6. Nova permalink
    November 20, 2010 11:49 pm

    You can find Holy Crap on facebook (and order) !

  7. Misty permalink
    November 18, 2010 7:50 pm

    That was such a great segment! I can’t wait to give it a try!

  8. Trish permalink
    November 17, 2010 11:43 pm

    Damn – I love your posts Danny!

    I was giggling with the marketing 101 lesson, but you really got my attention with the health content.

    I want some. Where do I get it? (If not the Dragons Den version, than yours will do). Sounds uber healthy, but I’m assuming it’s also yummy… I know you love yummy goodness.

    Thanks,
    T

Leave a Reply

