Skip to content

What are you putting on your body?

November 27, 2010

If you use skin care products with ingredients that are foreign to you, say “Aye”.   “Aye!”   I’m looking at my Jergen’s body lotion as we speak and the only thing on there that I’m familiar with is “water”. 

I’m aware that there’s a long list of ingredients that we should avoid when purchasing face cream, body lotion, shampoo, toothpaste, and so on but the average person can’t keep these straight.  I couldn’t tell you with confidence which of the ingredients listed on this Jergen’s moisturizer are deemed as safe . 

There’s also an accelerating number of products bearing a “natural” or “organic” label yet it’s not necessarily true that they are the best to put on our skin (and ultimately be absorbed into our bodies). 

I’m pleased to say that my $15 was well spent at the Whole Life Expo this evening.  I walked away with pages of health tips during the lectures and one of them is on this very topic.   The Environmental Working Group (EWG) just made our lives easier with their Skin Deep website.  It’s an online safety guide for cosmetics and personal care products.  Their database contains information for 63,824 products and 7,786 ingredients.  So all you have to is search by ingredient or product name to see how it rates on the toxicity/safety scale. 

You can be my witness as I submit my first inquiry.  I just typed “Jergens” into the search bar and the rating is….6 which is moderate hazard on a scale of 1 to 10 (10 being the most dangerous).   It also outlines illnesses and symptoms which are potentially associated with the ingredients in each product.  Now it’s your turn.  Grab a toothpaste, cream, etc. and see what the experts have to say.   Be prepared to do some shopping at the Whole Life Expo this weekend once you discover what’s lurking in your cupboard.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

