Skip to content

CrossFit Boot Camp – It’s a wrap!

December 31, 2010

Today marked the 20th (and final) day of our CrossFit Boot Camp.    I never expected that we would stick with the program for an entire month…especially in the dead of winter.  

I know what you’re wondering.   “Did it work?”   Well, the results speak for themselves.  Keep on reading.

Back in our first week of Boot Camp I did the “Benchmark Workout” which includes 5 rounds of the following:

  • 15 dumbbell presses (I had 15lbs in each hand, Keith was working the 25lb dumbbells)
  • 10 box jumps (I used 16″ blocks, Keith showed off on the 20″ ones)
  • 5 burpees (see instructional video below)

The Results:  On December 4th, I struggled to complete the above in 11 minutes and 40 seconds.  Today, and fifteen classes later, I still struggled to complete the benchmark (it looks easier than it is, trust me).   By round two I was panting, taking breaks in between sets and I still had three rounds to go.   This was worrisome and had me questioning whether I would see any improvement.   Was I going to be “that girl” who goes backwards and does worse?  I’ve been told it’s happened once or twice.

Feeling breathless, I completed my last burpee while glancing up at the clock.   Drum roll…my new time was 7 minutes and 14 seconds.   I couldn’t believe I beat my benchmark by 4 minutes!   A complete surprise…and a relief.   My $250 was well spent.  

Overall, I am stronger, building endurance and gaining muscle back.  Not to mention learning a few things in the process.   Keith would agree.  He also deserves a pat on the back for beating his time by 4 minutes and change.

So what now?   We’ve decided to continue with CrossFit.  The healthy eating will be reintroduced as well (starting tomorrow).   We have a NYE party tonight so can’t guarantee anything.  

The Damage:  For three CrossFit classes per week, it works out to be $161.50 monthly (assuming you commit to an annual duration).  CrossFit will complement my cheap and cheerful gym membership at The Training Room ($25 per month).   At the end of the year, I will have invested just shy of $2300 towards my fitness regimen (using the term “investment” makes me feel better about the spend).    

Looks like our wedding budget might have to take a hit – we’ll downscale the decor no problem, but the food will not be sacrificed:)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Stevedave permalink
    March 31, 2011 9:41 am

    Sounds like it was beneficial. So cross-fit something you are considering doing monthly? It seems a bit expensive to carry through the year. I wonder if there is a cheaper way to get on a cross-fit regimen? DVD?

  2. Brian Binns permalink
    January 4, 2011 4:33 pm

    Glad to hear there wil be no downscale on the food.

  3. January 1, 2011 5:27 am

    Congrats on the 4 minute improvement, that’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

