Skip to content

A foodie bridezilla is in the house

March 1, 2011

Just a few hours ago, I left the Art Gallery of Hamilton with a signed contract in hand and a full belly.   First, we signed on the dotted line and secured July 23rd, 2011 as our wedding date (woot woot!).  Then I settled my nerves with a heathly Paleo meal from the Art Gallery’s Cafe.  

I also treated my mother to lunch, given that she gave up an hour of her day to support her daughter on the contract discussions.  As you can imagine, I spent most of the time reviewing the menu.

Our meal was the perfect way to celebrate the occassion.  Although I would have preferred a cupcake, cookie or something non-Paleo, I knew what was good for me and my next dress fitting.   The chef confirmed that everything on this plate was wheat, gluten, dairy-free (although I wasn’t so confident with the sweet potato fries so I went easy on them).  

Lunch at the Art Gallery of Hamilton

So if you ever find yourself in the Hammer, otherwise known as Hamilton, swing by the downtown core.   Walk past the crazy folks on the corner and the strange man begging for Nicorette.   Hidden here you will find the beautiful Art Gallery and magically forget that you are in the armpit of Ontario.   While you’re there, you can check out the art OR even better, you can grab a bite to eat at their Cafe for about $7.

So, after 3 months of humming and hawing, Keith and I commited to the venue.  I take the blame for stalling the process but I had to be super sure about the food.  As you might have noticed, I have a food blog and a reputation for being obsessed about food.  So you can imagine the pressure!   I was a bit of a bridezilla through the menu planning and will continue to be, but it’s my party and I’ll cry if I want to.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

