Skip to content

Me, myself…and meat!

March 2, 2011

Being on this Paleo diet means we are consuming more protein than the average person.  I’d hazard to say that 70% of our grocery budget is spent on meat, fish or poultry.  For two people, there’s a lot of meat coming into this household:  surely enough to nauseate any vegetarian and possibly have them disown me as a friend. 

Since we’re eating so much of this stuff, it’s that much more important that we have a clue where our meat is coming from.   I try to limit my purchases to only products that are ethically raised, naturally reared, hormone and antibiotic free.

Kudos to CrossFit for making it simple to get our hands on quality meat.   They recently started offering their members the opportunity to do bulk purchases of all kinds of organic meats through Beretta Farms.   Before I knew it, I was walking out of the gym with a garbage bag of meat and $104.11 lighter. 

Beretta Organic Farms - My Order

My order:

  • 2 x chicken breasts
  • 2 x chicken thighs
  • 2 x lean ground beef
  • 2 x grass-fed ground beef
  • 1 x grass-fed stir fry beef
  • 1 x stir fry beef
  • 1 x nitrite-free bacon

If you’re not a CrossFit member, you can still take advantage of the delivery from Beretta.   You might want to convince a few friends, family or even your neighbours to join in, given that there is a $300 minimum for delivery to the GTA.  

If you’ll now excuse me…I have some meat to cook!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Tal Riff permalink
    March 3, 2011 1:19 pm

    Amazing. My husband is (or maybe recently was?) a CrossFit member. Hopefully we can join in on the meaty fun… In the meantime, I took advantage of a great DealFind the other day at The Butchers. This was before deciding to go on the Paleo diet – hopefully I can find some grass-fed meat there.
    OK, Back to my yummy lunch of chicken and asparagus. How are you dealing with the “filler” cravings (i.e. grains/carbs)? I’m dying……….

  2. Janet Binns soon to be your mother-in-law permalink
    March 3, 2011 10:30 am

    Beretta does not deliver to all of the GTA area even if you are spending $1,000.00 or more I have tried, they do not delivery to Pickering or Ajax.

    • March 4, 2011 2:09 pm

      Good news! I spoke to Beretta Farms this morning and they may be able to accomodate a shipment to Pickering. She suggested that we place an order online and they will do their best to fulfill it. There’s no harm is trying!

Trackbacks

  1. Paleo Almond Breaded Chicken (gluten-free) | me. myself. and food.
  2. Kentucy Fried Chicken makeover « Me. Myself. And Food

Leave a Reply

