Skip to content

Kentucy Fried Chicken makeover

March 3, 2011

As much as I detest Kentucky Fried Chicken for how detrimental it is to our health, there’s something I love about it.  A few years ago, I lived near Yonge and Eglinton and used to pass a KFC joint en route to the gym everyday.  At the moment that intoxicating odour of fried chicken hit my nostrils, my cravings for a breaded drumstick would shoot through the roof.   I’m proud to say that I resisted the temptation to make a pit stop and chow down every time.   

A story my mom tells us must have given me the willpower to keep walking.  She would treat us to family bucket once in a while, until she attempted to reheat leftovers and the baking tray overflowed with grease.  Dis-gust-ing.  That was the last time I saw the Coronel in our home.   Plus, eating crap like that is blasphemy in any Italian household.

I was scanning Paleo recipes for a something different to do with the pounds of chicken I purchased through Beretta Farms which had thawed out.  It was the “Breaded Chicken Strips” that caught my eye.  It had a mild crunchiness to it that had me reminiscing about KFC.   I wish I had this recipe years ago to subdue those cravings!   

“Breaded” Chicken Strips

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 lbs chicken breast or thighs
  • 1.5 cups almond flour
  • 1.5 cups corn flour (I used 3 cups of almond flour instead of the mix with corn flour)
  • 2 tsp of sea salt
  • 2 tsp pepper
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 2 tsp paprika
  • 2 tsp dried basil
  • 2 tsp dried rosemary
  • 3/4 cup almond milk
  • juice from one lemon

Instructions:

  1. Pre-heat over to 350 degrees.
  2. Mix lemon juice and almond milk into a dish.
  3. Mix flour with spices into a dish (see photo below).
  4. Using a meat tenderizer, flatter each piece of chicken to a 1/2 inch or so.
  5. Dip each piece into almond milk and then into “breading”.
  6. In a single layer, place all of the “breaded” chicken onto a pan and bake for 25-30 minutes until cooked through.  You may want to broil at the end to crunchify the top!

The "Breading"

And here is the final product!  Ok, I might be pushing it.  They don’t look anything like KFC chicken, but they’re pretty good considering there’s no wheat, dairy, deep fryer or looking heart attacks involved!

"Breaded" Chicken

P.S.  Bizarre!  As I’m typing this, a Kentucky Fried Chicken commercial came on.   What are the chances?   They’re now promoting grain-fed, hormone-free chicken (but neglected to mention that it’s deep-fried in vegetable oil). 

Here’s what I served alongside the “breaded” chicken.

Curried Cauliflower:

 
 

 

Baked Curried Cauliflower

 Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1-2 tbsp curry powder
  • 1 tbsp garlic powder
  • Few shakes of turmeric
  • Few shakes of chili powder
  • Sea salt

Instructions:

  1. Pre-heat over to 350 degree oven.
  2. Poor olive oil into a large mixing bowl.
  3. Add curry powder, garlic powder, turmeric, chili powder and a pinch of sea salt.
  4. Chop up head of cauliflower and add to olive oil mixture.  Mix until coated.
  5. Spread cauliflower evenly into a baking dish or cookie sheet and bake for 40-45 minutes.

With tried and true recipes like these, the Paleo diet gets easier everyday.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

