Skip to content

Frankly Eatery – Restaurant Review

March 14, 2011

Frankly, I should keep my mouth shut, but I thought you all deserved to know there’s an awesome eatery in town.  So awesome, it has earned a score of 100% on Urbanspoon.  Need I say more?  No, but I will anyway.

My neighbourhood just keeps getting better and better.  With every restaurant I visit and every bite I take.  Although, it seems to be the brunch spots that are winning me over, from Bonjour Brioche, to Lady Marmalade and my newest love – Frankly Eatery.

Frankly Eatery

LOCATION1118 Queen Street East (Leslieville, Toronto)

THE MENU

Frankly is truly refreshing.  Brunch spots can be predictable, but when you take those traditional dishes and infuse a little Indian flair you’ve got something people will be talking about.   Their main menu has a little bit of everything and would suffice on it’s own, but the weekend specials demonstrate how creative these guys can get.   Check it out on the right.  

Every ounce of me wanted the “Yes, Please!” special.   In particular, it was that sweet potato pancake had me at hello.  Yet, I had to say “No” while we’re still on this Paleo diet  (one more week to go!).

OUR ORDER:  

Egg Bhurji Scramble ($8.50) – My scrambled eggs were no sweet potato pancake, but I was impressed with how well the Indian flavours worked here.   The chef prepared my meal without the cream to make it dairy-free.  Even with this noticeable omission, I enjoyed every crumb AND I would order it again…Paleo style.   In fact, I’m going to attempt to remake this at home and give the standard fried egg a break.

These eggs also had some kick.  If mild salsa has you running for a glass of milk, I suggest trying something else on this menu.   You won’t be disappointed.  I ordered my eggs medium spicy and my tongue was tingling. 

Egg Bhurji Scramble

 

Pesto and Prosciutto Scramble ($9.50) –  This was Keith’s choice.  The dish was described as a “scramble with spinach basil ricotta pesto topped with prosciutto…”.  Do you see something wrong here?   Well, Keith clearly didn’t and learned something new today.  Ricotta = cheese = dairy = non-Paleo.   But let’s give the guy a break.  It was an innocent mistake.  Here’s the kicker: Keith doesn’t particularly like creamier dishes.  Although he enjoyed his meal (as evidenced by the plate licked clean) he said that he would have preferred it ricotta-free.  So he cheated by eating something he didn’t drool over.  What a waste!  

Frankly Pesto Scramble

Everyone else at the table gave their meals a thumbs up as well.   Two of them ordered the Breakfast Wrap and the other two went for the BLT.  All dishes came with a side salad and most with a baguette.

THE DAMAGE:

Very reasonably priced in comparison to some of the other places I’ve visited.  The total was $65 for six dishes and two cups of tea.   So this worked out to ~$25 per couple with tip.  

THE SCENE: 

Like most brunch spots in Leslieville, or anywhere in Toronto for that matter (chain restaurants excluded), this place was small.  Really SMALL.  There’s enough space to maneuver between tables so your butt doesn’t end up on someone’s plate, but it only seats 24 people.  When the 6 of us rolled in, the waitress (who was very pleasant) asked another table to switch spots so they could accommodate us.  How Canadian of her!  There’s no question that once this place gains a little more popularity, the line ups will start to form. 

YOU SHOULD GO IF:  

  • All of your friends are busy and you only need a table for two. 
  • You’re craving curry at 10am.
  • The plain ol’ eggs are getting tired.

Frankly Eatery on Urbanspoon

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2011 9:08 am

    We’ll try this out on Sunday. Can’t wait!

  2. Stevedave permalink
    March 31, 2011 9:42 am

    Good call. That is definitely a place where I would explore the menu rather than sticking to one item.

  3. Stevedave permalink
    March 15, 2011 4:39 pm

    Urban Spoon gives it 100%…what do you rate it?

    • March 15, 2011 9:13 pm

      I give it an 80.72% 🙂 Loved the creativity on the menu and the fact that it worked on the plate! They get some more love from me for being so accomodating to our diet restrictions and getting us seated. I will say that those who prefer the traditional breakfast may feel differently and give this a lower rating, simply for not be as simple as eggs and bacon.

Leave a Reply

