Skip to content

Gotta try this Gluten-Free Chocolate Cake!

March 30, 2011
This cake saved the day after our 30-day Paleo Challenge.  Don’t let the “gluten-free” in the description deter you – this baby is moist and will make your mouth water.
I sampled the cake batter before it went in the oven and was already head over heels for this recipe.  Why bake a cake when the mix tastes so darn good like so?   I intentionally did a poor job scooping the batter out of the bowl, just so there was enough to lick clean while I paced the kitchen for 35 minutes.  Cranking up the oven temperature to expedite the baking time did cross my mind, yet somehow I held myself back. In the end, the baked cake was worth waiting for.  Before I continue raving about this recipe, let me address two caveats:
  1. My review of this delicious dessert may be a little biased.  If you recall, my last baking attempt was a flop with the Flourless Chocolate Cake. Remember the one that I struggled to swallow?  Also, having been deprived of real desserts for 30 days might have skewed my rating.
  2. This is predominantly made with healthy ingredients but it’s still dessert and should be eaten in moderation.  It is loaded with fat (the good kind) and contains sugar (I used 1/4 cup of agave instead of a full cup as prescribed).  If you go for an average-sized slice you’re looking at ~24 grams of fat (see nutritional chart on the right).  So have a sliver instead and savour every bite.  That will help keep the weight off…and the cake will last longer too:)

Gluten-Free Cake - Nutritional Info

As mentioned, the base of this recipe is coconut flour which is made from finely ground coconut meat with most of the moisture and fat removed.  The coconut flour tastes absolutely heavenly and has earned itself a regular spot in my kitchen cupboard.  Why?
  • It’s gluten-free and tastes WAY better than the alternative flours
  • It can replace wheat flour to make most of your favourite carb-based desserts, breads, etc.
  • It contains fewer carbohydrates than other nut flour (10 grams in 2 tbsp)
  • It contains more calorie-free fiber (9 grams in 2 tbsp) than other wheat-based alternatives
  • It provides a good source of protein (2 grams in 2 tbsp)

Gluten-Free Chocolate Cake

Ingredients:
  • ¾ cup coconut flour, sifted
  • ¼ cup cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon celtic sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 10 eggs (I only had 8 eggs so added a few tablespoons of water to compensate for the missing eggs.  The eggs play the role of gluten and are necessary if you use 100% coconut flour in a recipe such as this.)
  • 1 cup coconut oil
  • ¼ cup agave
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • ¼ teaspoon orange zest (I omitted this since I did not have any oranges on hand)
Instructions:
  1. In a small bowl combine flour, cacao, salt and baking soda
  2. In a large bowl using an electric hand mixer, blend eggs, oil, agave nectar, vanilla and orange zest
  3. Add dry ingredients into large bowl and continue to blend
  4. Oil (2) 9 inch round cake pans and dust with coconut flour (or use one pan as I did)
  5. Pour batter into pans and bake at 325° for 35-40 minutes
  6. Remove from oven, allow to cool completely then remove from pans
  7. Frost and serve (you can find the frosting recipe here, but I was just fine with cake)
I’m so excited for you to try this!   You’re going to love the batter, let alone the cake!
8 Comments leave one →
  1. Ted Bowman permalink
    April 5, 2011 1:36 pm

    How well does this cake keep? I wanted to make it tonight for a party tomorrow night. Will it be ok?

    • April 5, 2011 6:08 pm

      It keeps pretty well. We had it in the fridge for 5 days and I still enjoyed every bite….just make sure you keep it tightly wrapped.
      Although, I will say that cake always tastes better warm out of the oven:) Let me know what you think!

      • Ted Bowman permalink
        April 7, 2011 10:32 pm

        Will do! It’s in the oven right now. I ended up using one large pan and honey instead of agave. We’ll see how it goes!

      • Ted Bowman permalink
        April 11, 2011 6:21 am

        This cake is awesome. It lasted three days after I made it and tasted fresh when we cut into it and ate it yesterday. Paleo and non-paleo folks thought it was awesome. Thanks!

  2. Kim permalink
    March 30, 2011 9:15 pm

    Mmmm, can’t wait to try this, thought mildly concerned moderation may not be my forte! Thanks for sharing Danielle!

  3. March 30, 2011 1:23 pm

    Where is a good place to find coconut flour??

    I’ve been searching for alternate flours to make some sort of Paleo flatbread, but this sounds even better. I like the fact that this cake has a decent amount of protein too! Must be from all the eggs that go into it.. I’m going to throw some raw cacao nibs in mind to bump up the antioxidants and give it some texture.

    Thanks for this!!

  4. Kari permalink
    March 30, 2011 12:22 pm

    This looks really good! I will try and make it! I did enjoy your tofu cupcakes before!

Leave a Reply

